Goodbye 2015!

Well, it’s New Year’s Eve, and I figured I would throw together a post on what I enjoyed about this year, what I missed, and what I look forward to in 2016 in the world of video games and movies. Enjoy!

What I liked about 2015

Halo 5: Guardians

This year saw the return of Master Chief in the highly anticipated game. I have yet to finish the campaign, so I have avoided information about the story line. However, I have enjoyed what I have played so far, and it’ll be a goal in 2016 to finish the game, and maybe kick a lot of ass in multiplayer.

Star Wars: Episode VII The Force Awakens

I finally got to see this movie on Christmas Day (unfortunately, thanks to some asshats on Facebook, a certain character’s death was spoiled for me). The movie I personally felt was fantastic. I think it had some great shoutouts to the original movies, some great parallels, and of course, the return of the original Star Wars trio was awesome. I think as far as this movie goes, it’s a really nice set up for the next two in the series. I thought it was beautifully done. My husband does not agree with this, unfortunately. To each their own.

Spectre

This movie was gorgeous. I love Daniel Craig. I love him even more as 007. This was an enjoyable movie to watch for the eye candy as well as the plot. It’s a shame that Spectre was likely his last movie as Bond, but the franchise has historically had many Bonds.

Jurassic World

This wasn’t a bad movie. It is VERY difficult to bring the magic back of the very first movie. Very hard. I give them major props for their effort (as well as for bringing Chris Pratt in. Hubba hubba). There were some nice throwbacks to the older movies. Would have loved to see Jeff Goldblum….just sayin’. Maybe a little Sam Neill. I think that would have helped. Bring Dr. Grant back!

Xbox One Backwards Compatibility 

Uh, well duh. The announcement was made….during E3 if I remember correctly, but Microsoft came through on its promise, offering a number of games originally made for the 360 for the One. Now, that being said, it’s not all sunshine and rainbows. I’ve seen a couple articles about certain games being awful on the One. That sucks, but everything has its quirks. Hopefully a solution can be found for those issues.

What I missed in 2015

Concussion

Mockingjay Pt. 2

The Peanuts Movie

Ted 2

Pitch Perfect 2

Mr. Holmes

Max (I had to refrain watching this movie. Drama involving pets are rough for me to watch)

What I’m looking forward to in 2016

Deadpool

Oh man does this movie look HEAVENLY. Not heavenly in a religious sense, trust me. If you can’t stand swear words, violence, gore, then this movie is NOT heavenly for you. For us regular ol’ geeky HEATHENS, this movie looks fantastic. It has been years in the making, but we are gonna have a Deadpool movie, and a Deadpool movie done RIGHT. The merc with a mouth will be a hilarious thing to watch for Valentine’s Day with your significant other. 😉

Batman v Superman

Ben Affleck is no Christian Bale. Henry Cavill is no Christopher Reeves. But you cannot let those simple things deter you from keeping an open mind. From the looks of the trailer, the movie will be dark, gritty, and probably everything you would want. Now, Henry Cavill I did not mind in his role as Superman, but Ben Affleck will be interesting to see. Now, bring in Wonder Woman, and you have some serious superhero badassery. Yes, I’m looking forward to seeing how it plays out.

Warcraft

The trailer for this actually looks good. Movie adaptations of video games can get pretty disappointing (a lot of fans were dissatisfied with Silent Hill and its sequel – I enjoyed them personally), so this will be a wait and see. Trailer sucks you in though.

Finding Dory

Here’s all I can say: …..OMGOMGOMGOMGOMGOMGOMG!!!!

Independence Day Resurgence

I’m looking forward to this for the nostalgia honestly. I love the fact that Jeff Goldblum and Bill Pullman are gonna reprise their roles for this movie. The trailer looks good, but it’s going to be a watch and see. I’m always suspicious of sequels.

The Secret Life of Pets

This has to be the funniest damn animated trailer I’ve seen in a long time. This movie looks so fantastically funny, especially with voices like Kevin Hart. This is a HIGHLY recommended movie.

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Anyone that knows me knows I am a huge Harry Potter nut. Myself, along with many Potterheads around the globe are SO excited to be able to step into a theater and watch the magic come back to life in front of our eyes. The trailer states “J.K. invites you back” …….. yeah we NEVER left.

No Man’s Sky

No Man’s Sky is an upcoming video game with a MASSIVE shit-ton of planets. We are talking over 18 QUINTILLION PLANETS. Never in your lifetime will you EVER be able to explore all of them. Each planet is unique with different species of life. If you’re looking to play with your friends online…….good luck finding them.

I would add more, but there is SO much to look forward to in the world of movies and games. I haven’t even gone into music and books! I gotta keep this somewhat short, you know. What did you like about 2015? What are you looking forward to in 2016?

Leave a Reply

